Dear Noob, You Can Do It

Options
BeingKevin
BeingKevin Posts: 109 Member
I know how hard it is to get started so if you decided that 2014 was going to be the year that you finally drop a few pounds, or like me lots of pounds, then congratulations on taking control of your future. I can assure you only one thing – if you do it, and you can do it, it will be worth it.

One thing I like to tell people is that life is so much more fun when you are living it. I am living proof of this. I can’t even begin to tell you how much different life is for me, 190 pounds lighter than I was 15 months ago when I landed at MFP for the first time. In that time I have done things I never thought I would do again. In that time I have done things I have never done before. In that time my life has changed, for the better, forever.

If you are anything like me you have probably tried to lose weight numerous times. If you are anything like me you probably tried or wanted to try every pill, potion, and/or fad diet you heard about hoping that it would be the easy way to sustainable weight loss. You can stop looking now because the only sustainable weight loss plan (in my opinion) is a new lifestyle that includes eating less and moving more. Tracking your calories on MFP helps you hit the first of these two tasks, the second is up to you.

You may want to check with a doctor before doing any activity, but I strongly recommend doing something regardless of how little that activity seems to be. I started by walking just 5 minutes at a time and I had to stop because the pain in my feet, ankles, knees, and back were simply too much. It didn’t take long however before my body got use to the added activity and allowed me to go further and faster. Your body will amaze you with how much it can do if you will allow it.