Question on activity level

Options
Hi, I'm fairly new on MFP but logging faithfully since November. I am just wondering if I have my activity level set correctly. I set it at lightly active as I work as an Educational Assistant so on my feet most of the day. I try to get to the gym at least 3 times a week and
do videos on the days I can't. MFP set my calories around 1350 but some days I still feel hungry. I am very happy that the scale has actually gone below 170 which it hasn't been at in years. I am 5' 2" and started at 174 lbs. I set it to lose a lb a week.

Replies

• Mr_Knight
    Mr_Knight Posts: 9,532 Member
    Options
    It sounds like you're losing pretty close the expected pound-per-week. As long as that is correct, and assuming you are logging reasonably accurately, it would appear you have your activity level set just about right.
  • likitisplit
    likitisplit Posts: 9,420 Member
    Options
    I've found it hard to maintain focus when I'm hungry all the time. If that's true for you, it might be worthwhile to bump up your calories by 250 or 500. Slow but sustainable always trumps a faster loss.
  • jennegan1
    jennegan1 Posts: 677 Member
    Options
    This might help you out. When I first started I put down sedentary but worked my way up to either lightly active But I also saw what my average was for about a week or 2 I mean for my calorie in take and I average between 1400-1450 plus this website saying I shouldnt go below 1420 for my weight now. So check this one out and see if it helps http://www.freedieting.com/tools/calorie_calculator.htm
  • kathyr_1961
    kathyr_1961 Posts: 10 Member
    Options
    Thank you for all the suggestions! I will play around with the calories and definitely check out the website too! I tried Weight Watchers twice with no success and this seems so much easier to me. I think I needed the visual for the calories.:smile:
  • likitisplit
    Options