Advice Needed

Options
Hey all,

So I've researched low carb diets and talked to a doctor and a friend who majored in nutrition and I think this is going to be the best way for me to lose weight. Does anyone have success stories about low carb? How do I get started? What worked for you and what didn't?

Also, I am a poor college student so I can't afford a lot of the 'healthy' foods sometimes. Anyone have any ideas on how to get this started?

I have figured out that what works best for me is to take a goal each week and work on that one goal, then move on to the next goal. This week is quitting soda. I drink way too much soda.

Thank you,
Liz :)

Replies

• Destanie_Robyn
    Destanie_Robyn Posts: 304 Member
    Options
    Hi Liz!

Eating on a budget can be difficult! I feel that it is that much harder to stay on track when buying fresh healthy ingredients can cost $10+ just for one person and buying a McChicken or McDouble is only $1 from McDonald!

For me I've found that when I've had the best success is when I have had a plan and or challenge to stick to. I try to shop the sales at the grocery stores to buy fresh seasonal fruits and veggies, pre-portioning your food is very helpful! For Lunch most days I make a salad with some grilled chicken or tuna and low fat dressings like vinaigrette. My mom just got me a food saver! So I am very excited to use that to help lower my food costs too!