Im pregnant, how many calories should i eat to maintain?

Replies

• cocolo89
    cocolo89 Posts: 1,171 Member
    I ditto joining that pregnancy group. I ate maintance which was 1600 for first tri, second tri I ate 1700 and third tri I ate 1800-1900. whoops. I gained about 33-34lbs and exercised 3-4days a week until I gave birth at 39wks 5days.lol. SOOOO good luck!! I too was on 1500 cals before pregnancy :))

edit**oh my baby boy was perfectly healthy weighing 7lbs 6oz :))
  • Congratulations on your pregnancy!!! :):):)

I have a master's degree in nurse-midwifery and had some thoughts on this... :)

First of all, good for you for doing good things to keep yourself healthy during your pregnancy! You probably know this but it is very important that you gain the amount of weight that your doctor/midwife recommended and not try to "diet" while pregnant. If you gain none or too little weight, it can be very dangerous for your baby--it puts the baby at risk for growth problems.

So, I would advise not counting your calories, but instead eat protein plus carbs with each meal/snack, and plenty of fruits/vegetables. Your doctor/midwife should be getting your weight at each visit and helping monitor things with your weight--they will let you know if you are gaining too much or too little. But just so you are aware, people with "normal" pre-pregnant BMIs should gain 25-35 lbs during pregnancy, "underweight" BMI should gain more like 35-45 lbs, and "overweight" people should gain 15-25 lbs. If a person is in the obese category prior to pregnancy, 11-20 lbs is recommended.

Point being, don't try too hard and stress about counting calories--instead eat every few hours, eat a well-balanced diet, and ENJOY being pregnant and getting ready for your new baby!!!

(plus, a bonus: if you plan on breastfeeding, you will lose "baby weight" faster!!!) ;)
  • Achrya
    Achrya Posts: 16,913 Member