Grad students, how do you find time for exercise?

Im starting a grad program soon and was wondering, how many times in the week do you find time for exercise?

Replies

• Candi_land
    Candi_land Posts: 1,311 Member
    I am not a grad student, however I am a full time Nursing student and I also have a full time job and an occasional second job. I'm currently recovering from an injury so I haven't been able to work out lately, but usually I wake up very early in the morning (5am) to give myself at least an hour at the gym and from there I shower and go to class or I go for an hour after work at night. I generally workout 5 days a week with one rest day. It's not easy, and between studying and homework I don't sleep much (maybe 5-6 hours at most if I'm lucky) but it's not impossible fitting a workout into a busy schedule.

Good luck!
  • allen_ac
    allen_ac Posts: 64 Member
    Depending on how my schedule stacks, i use to go at 7:00am every morning, then it changed to 8:30pm at night, now it's 6pm at night, you just find a routine to work around what you're doing.

Once you get into your routine, it becomes like second nature, you won't really think twice about going to the gym after you've consistently done so for a month or two. More importantly ensure you have goals set, which plays a part in your discipline and also makes exercising more enjoyable to achieve something.

I'd say 3 days a week minimum if you want to achieve something through your exercising regime, 3 days just enough for you to still be able to achieve something great with your workouts as long as you're giving it your all. If you can do more than that, great!

All the best, hope you find something that fits and you can stick to it