Marathon Training & Runner's Knee

Options
I am 10 weeks into training for my first marathon, with my longest run so far being 13 miles. Before I started training I had some knee pain that was diagnosed as Patellafemoral Syndrome/Runner's Knee/patella tracking issues, which I went to physical therapy for and the pain went away. I ran 9 and even 10 milers pain free, but recently the pain came back. I have been icing, stretching, taking ibuprofen, etc. and have backed off a bit on the running, but I am trying at all costs to avoid backing out of the marathon. I am going to incorporate swimming into my training plan more, but I am nervous to cut back on mileage as I get closer to the race. I am still planning on doing all of the Saturday long runs as planned (barring any unbearable pain) but will probably skip a shorter run every week and maybe cut back on the "medium runs" for a week or 2 in hopes that the knee pain gets better. Will swimming instead of running hurt my training significantly? I am following Hal Higdon's Marathon Novice 1 and have stuck to it perfectly so far and am nervous to stray away a bit! I am not trying to run the marathon in any certain time, just to finish. I typically run a 9:30min/mile while training. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

Replies

• juicemoogan
    juicemoogan Posts: 999 Member
    Options
    I had similar knee problems, my physio said it was because my other leg muscles -glutes especially were weak. I have keen doing exercises to increase the strength and flexibility of those muscles NAND have had no problem since.
  • cmccreesh
    Options
    thanks! what exercises do you do? I do squats, lunges, bridges, and leg raises with the stretch band, not sure if there are other great ones i should be doing that'd help
  • Azdak
    Azdak Posts: 8,281 Member
    Options