Fat guy loses weight and does a traithlon?

Options
I have a goal for this year: Triathlon!

Last year I lost almost 150 pounds. I have went from running out of breathe on a long walk to 20+ mile bike rides and hiking a 5K every weekend. Once I build some endurance in the water I want to try and complete a triathlon.

I have my eye on a mid-April sprint event: 800m swim, 20k bike, 5k run.

Has anyone else went from morbidly obese (I was 400+ pounds) to attempting a triathlon?

Looking for success stories and/or tips here!

Replies

• FrnkLft
    FrnkLft Posts: 1,821 Member
    Options
    No, but you can do it. Don't underestimate the swim. It's doable no doubt, but you WILL need to train it, and doing a 5k after biking is a very different kind of 5k.

Good luck man!
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,868 Member
    Options
    I went from obese to healthy and fit...

I started training for a sprint triathlon last year but ended up getting injured and had to skip the actual event. Just take it slow and make sure you're training properly for the event. My issue was that I was following a training template that had a lot of volume (as you would expect) to begin with...but I was then doing other things on my own due to other interests, etc...it was just too much volume.

I'm going to train for it again this year, but I made a resolution this year to train for one event at a time and not over-train. I ended up pretty much side lined for about 12 weeks with a partially torn tendon in my foot and then had to start back into my fitness again pretty slow. I'm actually still not running at all...just a lot of time on my bike and lifting and doing my re-hab exercises. I probably won't start running again until March or April to make sure I'm good and heeled up.
  • ROBJ3411
    ROBJ3411 Posts: 72 Member
    Options
    I've done a bunch of tris and it is amazing to see the different body types out there. this is very doable...