Working out after 12 hour shifts?

Options
flatbellybella
flatbellybella Posts: 303 Member
or even 12 hour + shifts? anyone doing it?

I'm a nurse and rotate days and nights... when I do 3 day shifts back to back... it's killer. I workout after work 2 of those 3 days... some days I feel like death lol

Anyone else in my shoes... what do you do?
I feel like no one on my friend's list really understands...
8 hour days just isn't the same.... lol

Replies

• Slenderiix1
    Options
    I am a Paramedic and also work 12 hr shifts, In all honesty you just have to stat committed to getting done. It helps if you have something that naturally will boost your energy. Personally I found natural drops that give me energy boosts during the day (not caffeine of energy drinks).
  • Chieflrg
    Chieflrg Posts: 9,097 Member
    Options
    I went through that many years ago. I sometimes just did one day out of the three. I was trying to build mass with heavy weights and being so drained, I definitely didn't hit my max which slowed the progression. If you are just running or something, I think its attainable.
  • diodelcibo
    diodelcibo Posts: 2,564 Member
    Options
    I work around the same ish and try to work out in the morning before the day drags me down.
  • gerard54
    gerard54 Posts: 1,107 Member
    Options
    I do it after a night shift in the ER, I just take my pre workout once I get home...
  • Jersey_Devil
    Jersey_Devil Posts: 4,142 Member
    Options
    how come ive never had a nurse that looks like you? I need better insurance. :)
  • 3dogsrunning
    3dogsrunning Posts: 27,167 Member
    Options
    I work 2 days, 2 nights (all 12 hr shifts) and 4 off. I totally understand. I have done 4 12 hour Dayshifts in a row and that was far worse than 4 backshifts in a row.