Weight lifting belt?

Options
I have been working with a trainer for 3 years. About 6 months ago started focusing on heavy lifting (squat, DL, OHP, bench) with ancillary work to support the primary. Today, he suggested that I invest in a belt. To put this in context, I was deadlifting - 195# (please don't laugh), which was a 10# improvement over my previous PR. It was ugly, but I didn't hurt myself or drop anything.

If it matters, I am female, 52 Y/O, 5'6", 166 pounds.

For those of you who lift, what are your thoughts of the pros and cons of belts? I always thought they were for really big dudes who are lifting houses or throwing telephone poles. I am not adverse to taking his advice, but I like to do research prior to deciding. I have seen a lot of experienced lifters on this forum, so this was my first stop.

Thank you in advance for sharing! :flowerforyou:

Replies

• SpecialSundae
    SpecialSundae Posts: 795 Member
    Options
    I have been working with a trainer for 3 years. About 6 months ago started focusing on heavy lifting (squat, DL, OHP, bench) with ancillary work to support the primary. Today, he suggested that I invest in a belt. To put this in context, I was deadlifting - 195# (please don't laugh), which was a 10# improvement over my previous PR. It was ugly, but I didn't hurt myself or drop anything.

For those of you who lift, what are your thoughts of the pros and cons of belts? I always thought they were for really big dudes who are lifting houses or throwing telephone poles. I am not adverse to taking his advice, but I like to do research prior to deciding. I have seen a lot of experienced lifters on this forum, so this was my first stop.

I can't help much, but why would we laugh at deadlifting 195lb??? I thought I was doing pretty well after a year hitting 90kg (198lb) and I have a 20+ year advantage on you!
  • Lozz68
    Lozz68 Posts: 13 Member
    Options