Muscle Confusion or Simple Progressive Weight adding

Options
Hello Everyone,

I've been back in the gym for about two months. I threw shotput during college and benefitted from some great Strength and Conditioning coaches, so I'm not a gym newbie, but I have a question now that I'm getting back into it.

In another couple of months or so will I need to change up the lifts I'm doing (switch between barbell and dumbell, body weight exercises, etc) or just keep on adding weight whenever I can rep out 3x5?

Replies

• _John_
    _John_ Posts: 8,641 Member
    Options
    depends on you honestly...

I like mixing up rep ranges from 3-12 myself.

But generally you can just add weight. Muscle confusion is marketing.

I'm guessing you would use up linear progression on a 5x5 type workout pretty quickly considering your history and how quickly you're going to progress to an "advanced/elite" lifter again as you keep lifting.
  • kALcyoum
    kALcyoum Posts: 8 Member
    Options
    That would depend on your preference. Mixing up your routine in general, whether its frequently to create "muscle confusion" or just to mix up your routine, can help you prevent your workout results from plateauing. You could gain steady results by continuing to add weight and repeating your routine. I did this early on when I started working out years ago and it does produce results, but eventually, you will notice (and you may have already if you were a shotputter in college) that eventually your gains will slow down.

Mixing up your routine is definitely recommended, but how frequently you change it up is completely up to your preference. If you follow certain workout routines, often times, the changes will be done automatically for you. If you are comfortable with your own workout routine and want to maintain that routine, steady increase in weights is not a bad way to go, but it is probably more recommended for those who are just starting up their workout.
  • kALcyoum