Eating before exercise

Options
I am fairly new to exercising so I am not sure what is the best strategy to lose weight. I am not a fit athlelete, I am at the beginning of this journey, 50 to 60 pounds to lose.. My question is do you eat before a work out? I have read some articles that say not to eat before because you will burn those calories and not fat and other articles say your body needs that pre workout meal to be able to perform. What is the truth behind these two statements. Does one apply to someone like me where the other applies to a fit athlete thats not trying to lose?

Replies

• ckspores1018
    ckspores1018 Posts: 168 Member
    Options
    I've heard a lot of different people say lots of different things, so you'll be different too. You need to just experiment with food/exercise and change things up based on how your body is feeling.

I workout in the mornings and whether or not I eat breakfast depends on the time and expected exertion of my workout. If I'm going for a quick run (1-3miles) I have a cup of coffee and that's usually it. Anything longer and I'll have some coffee and maybe a banana. For long runs I get up extra early so I can include some protein, usually nut butter.
  • thesupremeforce
    thesupremeforce Posts: 1,207 Member
    Options
    I eat before working out (not immediately beforehand, of course), because when I don't, I spend much of the workout feeling like I want to pass out (not that I've ever actually fainted).

Do whatever works for you. It won't make a noticeable difference either way.
  • mathjulz
    mathjulz Posts: 5,514 Member
    Options