Am I supposed to eat all exercise calories?

Options
I am new to MFP and am a little confused about goal vs. food vs. net.

I am a 42 yr old female, 5'5" and as of this morning 147. I would like to get to 130-135 and be more toned. I am training for a marathon in April so I am logging some long runs. Yesterday was just under 6 miles and MFP estimated that to be 669 ca. It has my daily goal as 1200 so should I eat 1200 + 600ish? I don't want to under-eat and not loose weight yet dont want to undo all the hard work i am doing with the exercise.

I checked back and ate 1640 yesterday so some of the exercise I ate back? Is this correct? I have a 8-9 mile run Tomorrow and want to make sure I am doing this right!

I was doing WW but didn't t seem to be loosing like I want to so figured I would try thus app instead.

Replies

• smokeytex74
    Options
    If you are looking to loose, then no, you are not suppose to eat back all of your exercise calories. You have to have a deficit to loose, or so that is my understanding.
  • Dnarules
    Dnarules Posts: 2,081 Member
    Options
    IMO, you don't have much to lose, so you should be eating more than 1200 anyway. If you are training for a marathon, you should definitely be eating more than 1200. So, yes, you should eat them back. But you may want to re-evaluate your calorie goals to fuel your runs. Hopefully runners will come in this thread and give you some advice.
  • youtubeworkouter
    youtubeworkouter Posts: 19 Member
    Options
    For me personally I try to stay 100 cals under the exercise goal. I have lost about 2lbs a week, but i also started at 215lb and I am now 160lbs six months later. (I heard it is easier to lose when you have more to lose, but I will see with these last 30lbs how much harder it is to get those off) I burn around 500 cals per day with exercise and eat most of it back.
  • Dnarules
    Options