Reaching Out for the First TIme

Options
Hello Everyone

I'm new to the FitnessPal forums, only having posted on here once or twice before with some technical questions. My name is Erin, I'm 22, and I've struggled with my weight my entire life.

I got the FitnessPal app last June, as a first step towards yet another attempt at a diet, which ultimately failed. I've been going through phases of dieting since I was 12, hardly ever with any luck.

I think one of the reasons I might have failed in the past is because I lacked a support system. Sure my friends/family/boyfriend all wanted me to do well, but they never really understood where I'm coming from or knew how to help. So I decided I might try to reach out on here for a support group, something I've never had before, and hopefully this time things will be better.

I'm not exactly sure what my goal is. I'm over weight for my height and age, but not significantly so. A lot of people don't really understand my desire to lose weight, my boyfriend for instance. They don't really understand that I'm just not happy with my body as it is right now. It stems from the fact that as a kid I was surrounded by people who were naturally very skinny, my little sister and all my close friends could eat whatever they wanted and they didn't gain a pound. I got teased a lot because of this. I also have a lot of issues with my body because my parents used to criticize me for my weight, my dad was the first person to ever tell me I was fat, I was 11 at the time. Ever since I started university my parents have been much kinder to me concerning my body, I think my mother realized that as a child I was really affected by all the things they said to me, and I think my father might have stopped because he realized that almost all my bad eating habits I learnt from him.