Needing Help With Carb Amounts!

Options
I know this subject is probably talked about again, and again AND again, but I just wanted to get some realistic opinions on eating with your macros, particularly the carbs!

Formerly a South Beach AND Atkins yo-yo dieter, I have persevered like you have no idea to refrain from eliminating carbs from my diet. I know how easy it is to lose the weight, and fast, when you do low-carb, but it has always bounced back + some. So I've already lost weight with MFP, and I was following the carb amounts MFP gave me (50 or 55%). my amounts were about 200g per day with the amount of calories I was given. But my weight loss has stalled, and I'm debating on reducing my carb amount, but by how much?

I work a desk job sort of (I'm an EMT) and am sitting all the time, but I'm on my third round of insanity (6 days/week) plus I run 5km twice a week, and do 1-2 full-body weight lifting sessions per week. Some days to stay in my macros I'm even eating 230g of carbs! I eat 6 meals a day (300-400 cals each) every 2-3 hours.

So is carb amount effecting how my weight loss has stalled? And if I should reduce my goal on MFP, what's a good number to start with? (without turning into an Atkins dieter again)

Specs: 25 yrs/5"3"/183 pounds/hourglass

Replies

• AJ_G
    AJ_G Posts: 4,158 Member
    Options
    Carb intake has absolutely nothing to do with fat loss. All that matters for fat loss is total calorie intake. Setting proper macros is important. Adequate protein intake is important for muscle preservation during weight loss, or muscle building during weight gain. Adequate fat intake is important for hormone production, nutrient absorption, brain and organ function, as well as hair and skin health. It's best to calculate your fat and protein macro and just set the rest of your calories as carbs
  • getabsbysummer
    getabsbysummer Posts: 19 Member
    Options