Skipping meals

Options
I never seem to have the time or appetite to eat breakfast on a morning. Other than occasional days like weekends I have been skipping breakfast for about 10 years. Some people say it's really bad for me to do that, I'll ruin my metabolism, etc. but recently with IF being all the rage I've been seeing more people dispelling that and even promoting skipping meals. I don't overeat later in the day to compensate so generally if I skip a meal I'll end up consuming about 200 calories less on that day. So what's the truth behind it?

Replies

• Jessicahanzlik
    Jessicahanzlik Posts: 58 Member
    Options
    It's really not a big deal, as long as you eat you alloted amount of calories per day and not go over, your fine.
  • slatrenta
    slatrenta Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    Meal timing is a myth. As long as your hitting your macros at the end of the day you will see the results you want.
  • YorriaRaine
    YorriaRaine Posts: 370 Member
    Options
    It really doesn't matter when you eat, as long as you are under your calories. Generally people find when they eat breakfast it makes them hungrier later or something like that.

However, looking at your diary, it says your calorie allowance is 1200. Generally, based off other people's forum post, its not a good idea to have your net calories be below 1200.
  • ItsCasey
    ItsCasey Posts: 4,022 Member
    Options
    IF isn't about skipping meals. It's about eating all your calories within a certain window of time. You still eat the same amount of food, just not on the typical breakfast/lunch/dinner schedule. If you don't like to eat breakfast, then skip it, but you still need to eat all your calories at some point.
  • jimmmer
    jimmmer Posts: 3,515 Member
    Options
    isn't eating breakfast supposed to kick-start your metabolism so you burn more calories throughout the day? or is that one of those myths cereal companies came up with that i've been buying into for years?

Myth.