hi- confused?

Options
Hi, I'm new to MFP... I have been put on a 1440 calorie "lifestyle" with MFP. I have a few questions:

Are net calories "extra calories" that I can eat during the day?
What happens when the number turns RED?
If I go over sodium or sugar, can I still lose weight if I am still under 1440 calories a day?
Whats the difference between calories REMAINING verses NET CALORIES?
Should I always eat my NET?

How do I know if I'm losing weight? I'm just confused..... HELP!

Thanks,
Ali

Replies

• nicolared1
    Options
    Your net is just your total calories for the day. When the number turns red, you've exceeded your calories for the day, ie you've eaten too many. You should still lose weight regardless of sodium or sugar - but I don't track those so someone else may have a more detailed answer on that one. And as for how do you know if you're losing weight...do you not just step on your scales and weigh yourself? If you don't do that, how do you know what you weigh in the first place? I might be missing something, but as far as I know, an app/website can't tell if you've actually lost weight.
  • jayjay12345654321
    jayjay12345654321 Posts: 653 Member
    Options
    The sugar max is unrealistically low in most cases. It's the first number I exceed. I don't even track it anymore. Exceeding sodium may lead to water retention giving you a false weight making you think you're not burning fat when you are. Focus on protein, fat and carbs, trying to keep carbs below the max, but feel free to exceed on protein and if your total calories stay on target, you'll still lose weight.
  • Shuuma
    Shuuma Posts: 465 Member
    Options
    Are net calories "extra calories" that I can eat during the day?
    What happens when the number turns RED?
    If I go over sodium or sugar, can I still lose weight if I am still under 1440 calories a day?
    Whats the difference between calories REMAINING verses NET CALORIES?
    Should I always eat my NET