kettlebells

Options
Anyone tried them? I was looking at buying a groupon for a kettlebell bootcamp. Wanted some input from the MFP world first.

Replies

• tmogs
    tmogs Posts: 287 Member
    Options
    I was wondering the same thing! I was looking at the jillian micheals one
  • paticap
    Options
    I just bought the program on line. They look fabulous, but I just got them and have not looked at the cds yet. I wanted something for the winter months that would give me something to do on inclimate days.
  • Kekibird
    Kekibird Posts: 1,122 Member
    Options
    I have Kettlebells as apart of my routine.

First thing I'll say is I'm no expert. So before I started I did my research.

As with any exercise, you have to know the proper form to get the most out of the routine without hurting yourself. With Kettlebells as with any weight lifting, there is a chance of injuring yourself so it's really important to know the proper stand and pick up form first.

This was the best recommendation I was given to learn Kettlebells: http://www.crossfit.com/cf-info/excercise.html#KBs Watch them and take note of the proper stance and posture when picking up/putting down.

I do a routine that come with my set from Target. I bought the GoFit 7 lb and 10 lb Kettlebells (I use the 10 lb). It's only a 25 min workout but it's great for toning AND getting your heart rate up.

Give it a try, I like them and I'm not a real weight lifting fan.

Katie
  • Kekibird
    Kekibird Posts: 1,122 Member
    Options
    Here is another article on how to pick your weight. http://www.ehow.com/how_2271551_choose-kettlebells-workout.html

For me, I'm 5'9" and 195 lbs with a solid build so I started with 10 lbs. I hope to step up to 15 lbs after the new year.