Body fat % test options

Options
I want to get my body fat % tested and was just wondering what everyone's recommendations are for accuracy...
Obviously things like BODPOD and Dexa scans are going to be most accurate, but I'm not super keen on spending that kind of money at the moment. I know digital scales are rubbish... How accurate are callipers or measurement calculations? Are there any other options I'm not aware of?

Replies

• jordymils
    jordymils Posts: 230 Member
    Options
    anyone??
  • Shaky44
    Shaky44 Posts: 214 Member
    Options
    I'm not an expert, but I think hydrostatic weighing is usually considered the best value/accuracy trade-off.

http://www.fitstop-lab.com/bodyfat.htm
  • birdiecs
    birdiecs Posts: 237 Member
    Options
    Calipers, when done properly are from what I've read the best low tech option.
  • albayin
    albayin Posts: 2,524 Member
    Options
    I have never got this tested on me but I know my body fat is going downward...because I do jumping jack in front the same mirror, now I see a huge difference. I also like to pinch the same spot on my stomach everyday, and the difference is very obvious, too.
    :bigsmile:
  • Entaro
    Entaro Posts: 23 Member
    Options
    Hydrostatic weighing is the best option, and generally isn't a big deal to get done either. Check your local university and see if they have a measurement system in their physiology lab. When I checked in with mine, it was 50 dollars and an hour to get it done. Super simple.
  • JazmineYoli
    JazmineYoli Posts: 547 Member
    Options
    Omron. I bought mine from Amazon for $33. Works good, and inexpensive
    0007379630630_500X500.jpg
  • TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    is there any reason you need to know a number?

I dont know mine, but i take monthly progress pics to see a difference... the actual number doesnt matter to me.
  • FIT_Goat
    FIT_Goat Posts: 4,224 Member
    Options