Starvation mode

Options
Hey all,
I'm new to this and so I'm just wondering if maybe ye could help me?
I seem to have calories left over at the end of each day and its telling me down the bottom that this could put my body into starvation mode and make it harder to lose weight. I don't feel hungry between meals so what do I do to use up these extra calories?
I am trying to eat proper portion sizes and I have cut out a lot of the junk food I used to eat but I do have a treat day at the weekend.
It also seems togive me an allowance for any exercise i do, should I disregard those extra calories it is allowing me?
Thanks a mil
:)

Replies

• bobdubya
    Options
    I get the same thing. I know it's not healthy to put your body in that mode. But, MFP may put that notice as a liability thing as much as any other reason. Some days I'm closer then others to my calorie allotment. I just make sure I have three lite and balanced meals everyday with a few snacks thrown in as the day goes by. (Fruit usually) And always my 100 cal popcorn at night. Good luck..
  • YourFriendBecky
    Options
    I think you'll get varying opinions on this... some people believe in starvation mode, some don't.

I can only speak from experience. I once lost a whole bunch of weight eating as few calories as I could... usually only ate about 700 calories a day. I felt okay during the process and lost weight fast. However, I also started losing my hair and put the weight back on really fast because my body had gotten used to so few calories.

So you have to find that middle ground there between not enough and too many.
  • Ms_Natalie
    Ms_Natalie Posts: 1,030 Member
    Options
    Hi there,
    I am someone who lost 42lbs staying away from starvation mode. I sometimes did stay under my calories but only when exercise cals had been added to my daily total! Some people will insist that it does not exist...but weight loss can be successfully achieved by eating the calories that MFP suggests.