Discouraged

Options
I have been dieting since 11 years old I go up and down. I am happily married with 4 wonderful children but so sick of dieting. I want it to go away and stay away.

Replies

• holly1283
    holly1283 Posts: 741 Member
    Options
    I understand your discouragement. However this site is famous for promoting a new lifestyle not a diet. That's what it is really about. It's not easy but putting it in a different perspective does help. Many people on here have no idea what it is like to love the taste of food. Put your information in and let MFP calculate your calorie intake. Try losing more slowly, no more than a pound a week so it doesn't seem so imposing on your present lifestyle. Don't go back in your life and start fresh. Find some friends on here to encourage you. I wish you well.
  • 1two3four
    1two3four Posts: 413 Member
    Options
    I have been dieting since 11 years old I go up and down. I am happily married with 4 wonderful children but so sick of dieting. I want it to go away and stay away.

I've been on so many diets in my life. The problem is diets don't work for every body. Sometimes you just have to change your whole relationship with food for your whole life and that's what I did over two years ago when I joined this site.

I eat everything in moderation, period.

The only difference while I'm losing weight is that I eat less calories than if I were to maintain my weight.

That's where My Fitness Pal comes in. I log my foods and make it fit my calorie budget making sure I try to get enough fats, protein and fiber (for me, grams of fiber is more important than carbs overall).

I eat homemade foods, I eat fast food. I eat fresh fruit and veggies and ice cream. I eat 'junk food'. There is no unhealthy or healthy foods. There's just food I eat anytime and foods I eat only sometimes.

On the days I sit on the couch and do nothing, I eat less. On the days I go with my family to the zoo I eat more.