My hair is falling out, will it ever stop?

Options
I've been dieting for about 4 months now and my hair is falling out by the handful. I've read that people who make drastic changes in diet puts your body into a shock and this happens, then it goes away after about 3 months.

I found out over the summer that I suffer from Acid Reflux disease and I am forced to restrict my diet tremendously. My stomach is extremely sensitive and I think it's impossible to get full nutrition.

I can't eat these things:

Any kind of nuts (peanuts walnuts pecans etc.)
Peanut butter
Bananas
Grapes
Vinegar
Doughnuts
Chocolate
Oranges
Lemons
Tomatoes
Anything spicy
Pizza
Pickles
Onions (raw)
Cabbage (raw)

If I eat any of these things I get indigestion. Anything fried or too oily/fatty I can't eat either. It's really annoying how sensitive it is. I do not have a eating disorder, I have no trouble eating. I just hate indegestion. Tums don't help, I take Prevacid everyday because that's what the doctor prescribed me.

If I overeat, I get indegestion. And if I'm not sure about eating something, I won't eat it. It's not worth the pain.

I just don't want to go bald. I'm young. This shouldn't be happening.

I'm starting to take emergen-C 3 or 4 times a day now. I take Vitamin-D, a multivitamin, Biotin and Calcium supplement everyday (I have been for awhile).

I'm just curious if anyone else has "shocked" thier body and if this will ever stop?

Replies

• lordofultima
    Options
    Are you eating enough calories? Your BMR refers to the minimum amount of calories your body needs to rebuild broken skin, blink, sleep, grow nails, and even grow hair. BMR is the amount of calories you burn doing nothing all day, and eating too far under this number can mess your body up if you're not careful.
  • wittlemunchkinx
    Options
    I'm in the same boat as you love. Over the summer I drastically cut my calories down and lost weight fast. I only ate 2 small bowls of cereal and half my main meal.