Opinions on this weightlifting regimen (for a beginner)

Options
Hi!

So I'm currently debating whether I should begin Stronglifts or if I should try out these two workouts that my friend "customized" for me. He's been weightlifting for a few years and claims that this program would be better suited for a teenage female like myself, compared to Stronglifts which is more directed towards men (although, yes, I know Stronglifts is used by women as well).
Here are the customized workouts:

14o1xmc.png

Which would be better for a teenage girl (5'9", 178 lbs, and pear-shaped, if that makes a difference...) with no weightlifting experience?

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• LKArgh
    LKArgh Posts: 5,179 Member
    Options
    It has been a while since I did routine weight lifting (and it never was my main exercise routine) so I am no expert, but personally I would forget the deadlifts at the beginning, as it is very easy to hurt yourself as a complete beginner. It is the exercise I have seen cause the most back problems to people with zero experience.
  • Phiallis
    Phiallis Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    Well, this looks like a very decent routine.
    I don't think there is 'a better one'. Just go with the one you have the most information about (demonstrations/support/ etc.)
  • MsJulielicious
    MsJulielicious Posts: 708 Member
    Options
    While In think that he has a solid plan i love the stronglifts program! i do cardio 5 X per week at about 20 to 30 mins a day bc I know its good for my heart and lunges and follow a stronglifts about 4 X per week bc I feel it makes me look good/ feel strong.
  • steffipaulina
    Options
    I don't have an answer for you but I am looking for a routine.

How many times would you do this in a week? and how many sets? start weight?

Thanks! :)
  • steve0820
    steve0820 Posts: 510 Member
    Options