first time poster from uk

Options
Hi, I'm new here and beyond nervous... I've never done anything online like this before and have spent a week or so looking at posts before even plucking up the courage to join haha. I barely exercise at the moment... I work shifts and I suffer from a few health problems. I want to move but even though I live opposite a gym... it scares me. Any help advice will be greatly appreciated as I don't know where to start especially where exercise is concerned :embarassed: x

Replies

• NidiaG24
    NidiaG24 Posts: 31 Member
    Options
    Welcome, there are great people here who can help. My advice is to document what you eat daily, this way you can see what you are really putting in your body. You would be so surprised what we eat that is not necessary or nutritional.
  • Junctionbox
    Junctionbox Posts: 47 Member
    Options
    If it is just weightloss you want at the moment then get in that gym and start doing some light cardio. Personally I can't stand cardio, but I do it because it works. You want to do something that leaves you out of breath and perspiring (or glowing in your case). Experiment with all the machines and pick one that you can get along with. For instance I can't run, but I can do the stairmaster or the rowing machine. I'm rubbish at the elliptical and the stationary bike.

So start slowly and build up the time/resistance as you get more confident. Measure your food intake, drink lots of water.

The main thing to remember in the gym - no one cares. When you first go in you feel like people are staring and judging you, but I promise they're not. Most of them, like me, are deep in their own workout - wishing it would end :)
  • tennisdude2004
    tennisdude2004 Posts: 5,609 Member
    Options
    You've joined the right place.

Recommendation would be weight loss is 80% diet - 20% exercise (for healthy weight loss you really ought to do both).