sugar question

Options
Hi. I'm new to mfp and just started looking at my food stats. Every thing seems to be in line except I am exceeding my sugar allowance. I usually have 2-3 fruits a day and that seems to be what is shoving it up so high.
Should I cut back on the fruit?
Thanks so much.
Laura

Replies

• xWendyJonesx
    xWendyJonesx Posts: 266 Member
    Options
    I used to snack on lots of fruit thinking it was a healthy option, it wasnt til I recently started to look at my marcos that I realised how high my sugar intake was, Ive switched to snacking on celery and pepper sticks now.
    I'd plateaued since August 2013, but over the past couple of weeks of switching up my diet I've lost 2lb.
    If youre not loosing it might be worth cutting back a bit to see if it helps, I eat 1-2 portions of fruit a day now.

Good luck.
  • hamelle2
    hamelle2 Posts: 297 Member
    Options
    Thank you. I will give that a try.
  • michellewelch2010
    michellewelch2010 Posts: 147 Member
    Options
    Stick to low sugar fruits too, a banana has significantly higher sugar than an apple or mixed berries.
  • sonyapowell
    sonyapowell Posts: 38 Member
    Options
    There are fruits that have a lower glycemic index than others. Melons, berries, Asian pears are all pretty low. eating the fruit whole is better than processing it. For me fruit takes away my sweet tooth and decreases my chances for failure. Best wishes!
  • erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,293 Member
    Options
    If you are not diabetic it doesn't matter. fruit is healthy and has fiber, vitamins and minerals that your body needs. I suggest you don't track sugar if you are not diabetic, as sugar is just a carb, and you already track those.

That said, the MFP suggested sugar limit is for added sugar, but the database does not distinguish between natural and added, so tracking sugar, unless for medical reasons is required, shouldn't be tracked.
  • Quieau
    Quieau Posts: 428 Member
    Options