A1C increased with weight loss

Options
Hello everyone: This is my first time posting, but I wanted to get some opinions about what is going on with my body. I know that many of you might have some knowledge of diabetes.

I am a 27 year-old diabetic. I was told that I have signs of insulin resistance from about age 14. I have been overweight most of my life. I currently weigh about 235 and am a 5'10" . My A1C is currently 11.2. About a year ago, I weighed about 275 and my A1C was about 10.3. I have adopted a bit of an exercise routine, I just started walking and my goal was about 4 hours a week from doing just about nothing when I weighed 275 or more (my highest weight was 294 about 6-7 years ago).

My question, is why am I getting higher numbers now, after watching what I eat more closely, and losing weight, than I did when I weighed more? I have been goggling and trying to find answers, but it doesn't seem that anyone has been talking about it. I really just want to find an answer. I am getting more frustrated every day! Please help!

Replies

• runningjen74
    runningjen74 Posts: 312 Member
    Options
    To lose weight how have you changed your diet? To lose weight, you need to eat lower calories - doesn't matter what they are.

This does not mean an improvement in health markers. To improve health, what you eat is important - eat mainly whole foods - meat/ fish/fruit /vegetables. Limit (eliminate as far as possible) processed foods / processed carbs. I'm not going to mention what proportion of your intake should be protein/carbs/etc... but just say for now, shop at the periphery of the store.
  • BigGuy47
    BigGuy47 Posts: 1,768 Member
    Options
    It's great that you have lost weight and are exercising. Diet plays a critical role with controlling your blood glucose level. Have you lowered your carbs ?
  • yarwell
    yarwell Posts: 10,477 Member
    Options