Any fellow musicians?

Options
I'm new to this and interested in making some friends who are musicians (or interested in music at least!).
It's difficult playing gigs in bars, touring in a van and spending long days in studios whilst resisting the temptation to chow down on junk food, or drink too much!
I would be interested to learn how fellow musicians cope with the trials of staying healthy.
Hopefully you guys will have a few tips to share!

Replies

• 1pandabear
    1pandabear Posts: 336 Member
    Options
    I wish! Does it count if I married a musician?
  • amberrea82
    amberrea82 Posts: 232 Member
    Options
    I wouldn't exactly call my self a musician..musical definitely. I picked up piano at a young age and still love to play. I love to sing - mostly just rocking out to the radio. I've also decided to learn a little guitar, albeit slowly. One thing's for sure: I would die without music. Literally shrivel up and die in a corner. Life would suck and I'd probably go to jail for assaulting some random person on the street. Of course I'm kidding...kinda. LOL
  • JadeBatmanMarie
    JadeBatmanMarie Posts: 16 Member
    Options
    Not so much a musician... I wish! I have a guitar that i like to think i can play haha! My ex was a drunmer in a rock band and taught me a bit on the drums and electric guitar :)
  • charcoalgriller
    charcoalgriller Posts: 17 Member
    Options
    I play guitar on my own and in a band once. My daughter plays piano. Controlling food on the road is difficult. You really are at the mercy of wherever the group stops to eat. Limiting intake is difficult and definitely reducing alcohol consumption is huge. If I drink I limit my intake to 1 drink/night. I'm not in college anymore and my metabolism took a nose dive, so I have to reduce my intake significantly. Portions are a challenge when I go out. I try and find someone to split a meal with. I am consoled that my favourite genre is the blues!
  • Agate69