Feeling Old And Left Behind

Options
I am new to MFP and to tell the truth just happy to have someone to talk too. I am at my all time high weight. I am 5'4 and at 176.
Not good and really not good for my age, I am 54. I was told about this program by my Dr.
My husband is an executive and I work part time in the beauty business of all places. Just trying to keep it together I also battle depression have been off meds for a few years. So much in life is just out of control, I want to control this.
I work out with Jillian tapes and I guess I am doing something wrong because they are no longer working. Does anyone know of some program that is better for someone over 50.
Thanks

Replies

• VelveteenArabian
    VelveteenArabian Posts: 758 Member
    Options
    You might not be putting as much effort in to the workouts, so they won't be as effective.

For your food... you should weigh your solids and measure your liquids. It's incredibly easy to guesstimate wrong and end up way over.

I don't know if you have mobility issues, but other than that, you can do pretty much any exercise you want. How about getting a trial at a gym and trying a bunch of fitness classes?
  • traerjudy
    traerjudy Posts: 36 Member
    Options
    Hi, I'm ancient compared to you (67). I walk on my treadmill unfaithfully but with good intentions and do an exercise cd by Denise Austin just as unfaithfully. Getting myself to exercise is my biggest challenge. We used to do line dancing and I loved it so that's why I chose the Denise Austin cd. We live in a small town of 1,500 where everyone owns a dog and walks it/them at least once a day. We have no dog but I want :happy: to join the walkers. I have to wait until spring for that because we live in Iowa and it's mighty chilly here right now.