What am I doing wrong?

Options
Hi, I am new to this whole idea of asking for help, which is probably why I am 29 years old and 232 lbs. For the last month or so I have been trying to loose weight the healthy way. I tried lots of fad diets such as Cambridge, lighter life, Slimming World, etc. and always lost weight well but could never keep it off (I like my food).

I am now trying to eat a balanced diet which is lower in carbs (not low-carb though) as I find that I tend to bloat and over eat when carbs are in my diet. I have also tried to remove all potatoes and pasta as they are my worst carb offenders.

I am also doing Insanity and am half way through week 5 (recovery). I do not include my exercise in my food diary as I already have my exercise settings set to account for these.

I am also aware that I comfort eat and so when people look at my diet diary they can see there are a few days where I went a little AWOL. I weigh everything and am insistent on putting everything that crosses my mouth in MFP diary.

I drink between 2-4 litres of water/squash a day as I sweat a lot and have also have always been a big fluid drinker.

My problem is that apart from my beginning weight loss I am not loosing anything and after 2 bad days on the weekend where I consumed 2921 and 1284 calories of unhealthy food choices I have put on around 4 lbs.

I am so upset and need advise. Please help!!

Replies

• trogalicious
    trogalicious Posts: 4,584 Member
    Options
    I am so upset and need advise. Please help!!

1. don't trust the initial setup that MFP provides. If you put in the wrong/inaccurate information, it'll tell you to eat an amount that may not be applicable.
    2. Make sure you eat enough.
    3. Figure out what works for you and is sustainable/healthy/long term.
    4. avoid fads. don't buy in to any "Hey, try the twinkie and vodka diet"
    5. Don't cut out anything now that you don't plan on literally giving up forever.