Fitbit: Friend or Foe?

Options
I got to my goal using MFP. Then I got cocky and quit logging. Then I started eating. I started gaining it back and got depressed so I just kept eating. Yesterday I decided that I had to act like an adult and get back with MFP so here I am!

My question is this: is Fitbit a good tool to use? It sounds like it would be good for me. I am a systems developer so I basically sit all day at the computer. I tend to need motivation, and I understand with Fitbit I can set goals, etc.

For those who have Fitbit, what is your opinion...

Thanks so much for taking a minute to help with this.

Laurie

Replies

• marieamethyst
    marieamethyst Posts: 869 Member
    Options
    I've found that my Flex will motivate me on the days I'm slacking. I love ending the day with all of my goals flashing green. It's also fun to geek out over all of the graphs that track your data. Here's what mine looks like if you're curious to see it in action:

http://www.fitbit.com/user/2DCFFV

I love my Fitbit; I think it's a handy little tool to use in conjunction with other tools like MFP. :)
  • sprintto50
    sprintto50 Posts: 410 Member
    Options
    I have used a Fitbit Zip, then a One for over a year. I find it's not only motivating, but is essential to me to help know my calorie allotment for the day. It can be synched with MFP and you just enter in MFP like normal, but you get extra exercise calories based on your activity and I find that makes me strive to search out opportunities to add steps.
  • LexiMelo
    LexiMelo Posts: 203 Member
    Options
    I am the same way! I am also a desk jockey but I get up and move around a whole lot more to get those 10k steps! Also I've been using the stairs more to meet my 10 flights/day goal - I love getting all of my goals too :glasses: