Stronglifts 5x5 Recommendations...

Options
Hello everyone!

Newbie after a bit of advice please – I have been lifting 3 times a week for approx 6 months. I didn’t start off on any particular programme, just got my BF to write down what he was doing that day and copied with a lot smaller weights! Found a great strength training gym where I feel comfortable and I really enjoy it, so felt I was well on my way.

My biggest issue is that I don’t seem to be getting a lot stronger…I’ve noticed a slight difference in how I look and, following a Xmas blip (i.e. a month off!), I have increased weights on some of my lifts/on some of the machines I use but I still feel like I’m not particularly strong. I see ladies who are a heck of a lot more petite than me (5’ 7’’ and just over 12 stone) happily shoulder pressing away 20kg or squatting 60kg and I feel like giving up!

I’ve decided maybe I need to re-jig what I am doing and really focus on a programme/regime for strength – maybe I have been flitting about too much and really need a focus, so I’ve been considering Stronglifts 5x5.

I came across the sticky thread and have had a good read, I just wondered if anyone else (especially ladies) has tried it and would recommend it?

I’m hoping that if I increase my strength, I can then begin to incorporate more of the excercises I’m doing at the moment back into my routine, as the plan seems quite back to basics.

Overall my goals are to increase strength and build some visible muscle (although I know my diet needs serious work!!)

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• MissB46
    MissB46 Posts: 143 Member
    Options
    I am on week 11 of stronglifts and I find it very easy to follow and I feel like I am progressing.

I did start with an empty bar apart from squats and deadlifts even though I had been lifting for a while but never really followed a proper programme.

You will get stronger and its really just about consistency.....
  • luce3003
    luce3003 Posts: 31 Member
    Options