Insatiable Days?

Options
So yesterday I got close to my goal before dinnertime. I had dinner and was a little over, maybe 200, but still hungry. Not just having an appetite, I was actually hungry. I tried to keep eating until I stopped being hungry even if I still had some appetite. In the process I wound up being 1100 calories over my goal. By contrast, 2/3 of the time I've been using MFP (6 weeks), I've had at most 200 calories over my goal. I've tried eating low calorie but highly filling things like salad without much success, too.

Why does this happen? What do you do to avoid it, or to resist it when you feel this way?

Additional context:
I'm 23M, 180cm, ~160 lbs.
I'm very lightly active. I commute to class by bike, which winds up being about 100 minutes a week in 10 minute increments. That's the extent of my cardio. I recently started lifting a little bit as well.
I'm attempting to lose 0.5 lbs/week. I'm not sure where exactly I want to stop, seeing as I've been between 160 and 170 lbs for 7 years. 150 seems like a reasonable goal for now.
My goal is 2200 net calories/day. This was based on weight/calorie measurements over the first 2 weeks or so of using MFP and the weight loss goal.
If I trust my measurements, I've lost 7 lbs in 6 weeks. I don't really trust them, though.

Replies

• Justinbernardkerr
    Options
    Are you just starting out on the diet? If so you should just try and eat fewer calories each day, say 100-200, and slowly ramp down. Your body will fight you if you drop off a cliff. You also need to give yourself an hour after eating of potentially being hungry to let your mind and stomach sync up.

It helps to remind yourself that it would probably take a week to starve if you truly ate nothing, and constantly remind yourself you aren't actually going to starve.
  • cathylaine712
    Options