at goal weight but still unhappy

Options
i am 4'11 and weigh 117 which i know i can go lower due to my height. i am now my goal and still hate the way i look. i should have started strength training from the beginning but i didnt know of its benefits until recently. is it too late for me to become leaner? i have a belly pooch that i loathe!!

Replies

• I_Will_End_You
    I_Will_End_You Posts: 4,397 Member
    Options
    It's never too late unless you're dead...start now!
  • Bernadette60614
    Bernadette60614 Posts: 707 Member
    Options
    I've weighed 140 and worn a size 6 and 140 and worn a size 12 (same manufacturer, same cut of clothing.) The difference was weight training!

At size 12, my bodyfat was 34% and size 6, it was 17% (actually too low.) so weight training can make a huge difference!

I'm not a pro at weight training advice, but there are lots of people here who are!
  • dnamouse
    dnamouse Posts: 612 Member
    Options
    Start now! It's never ever too late :smile:

You will love it and what it can do.
  • leapylees
    leapylees Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    I'm in a similar position - 4'10" and 118lbs, which was my original goal back when I started out. However I recently adjusted my goal to 110-112ish lbs and am increasing strength training as I don't like the way I look. Hopefully it'll help get my body fat down and get me where I want to be - hopefully finally shift the belly (first on, last off - stupid apple genes). I'm more about adjusting my body than losing though - if I can alter my appearance, then I don't care if I don't get to my 'new' weight-loss goal.
  • SezxyStef
    SezxyStef Posts: 15,268 Member
    Options
    it's never to late to start lifting...

As mentioned above I started lifting in September...9months into my journey...

Since then I have gone from a size 10 to a size 7 with very little weight loss.

There are groups to help out.

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/groups/home/4601-stronglifts-5x5-for-women