Runners... long run snacks?

Options
I'm somewhat new to running. Up to recently its always been 3-6 mile runs (no snack needed).. now that I'm training for my first half marathon I'm getting up into the 9, 10, 12 mile runs. I've heard its good to have a snack through these long runs to keep energy up. I'm wondering if beef jerky would be ok? or too salty?

As runners, what do you use for a snack, if anything, on your long runs?

Replies

• KristiRTT
    KristiRTT Posts: 346 Member
    Options
    Personally I don't fuel for less than 12 miles, I just have toast with peanut butter before leaving the house. However during longer runs or races I use sport jelly beans! Easy to chew and easy on the stomach. I hate beef jerky anyway but the thought of smelling that while running just turns my stomach!
  • _Zardoz_
    _Zardoz_ Posts: 3,987 Member
    Options
    Personally for a half I wouldn't bother eating. You need carbs not protein I also would have thought jerky would be a bit chewy to eat on the run. I normally just take Few dates for runs over 13 or 14 or use a a drink like hi5
  • amandalj
    amandalj Posts: 28 Member
    Options
    I use Gu gels for my long runs (for me, anything over 8 miles.) They come on lotsa delicious flavors - I love the vanilla bean and chocolate! It tastes kind of like frosting. They have a bunch of fruity flavors too, if that's your preference.

I tried the gummy "chews", but I hate trying to choke those down while I'm running and trying to remember to breathe :smile:

I'm running another half in May, and I'm thinking about giving the sports beans a try - they don't seem like they would be as difficult to chew.

Not so sure about beef jerky - as much as I love to snack on that, I don't think it would sit well while running.
  • Linli_Anne
    Linli_Anne Posts: 1,360 Member
    Options