Anyone still playing DDR for exercise?

Options
msafunk
msafunk Posts: 163 Member
I've been playing Dance Dance Revolution on and off for a few years. I started out in a dark corner of an arcade inside a bowling alley, but after I realized I was feeding the machine enough quarters to pay for two gym memberships, I bought a foam pad to use at home on my PC with StepMania.

I had to give it up for a little over a year because I was stupid and moved into a 3rd floor apartment, but now that I'm back on ground-level, I'm tearing up the dance pad with my husband.

I've gone from wheezing after a few light or standard songs, to being able to play for an hour straight on mostly heavy with a few standard here and there to cool off. I'm really proud of my progress (and so is my maniac husband, who got me into the game), but I don't think many of my friends understand/appreciate my facebook statuses about clearing ORION.78(AMeuro-MIX) on heavy.

Looking for some friends who understand and (hopefully) still enjoy playing.

OR!!! If you don't really play, but you've thought about it, and have questions, please feel free to ask! It's actually a pretty cheap and incredibly fun way to get exercise! It costs about $60 to get all set up to play in the comfort of your own living room. A quality pad is $60 on Amazon, and the PC (or Mac) game is free plus thousands of songs ranging from official Arcade songs to contemporary pop songs made by fans.

You might not start off burning a ton of calories while you're learning how to play, but once you can read the harder songs, it can be more intense than videos like T25 (which I have done), but much more fun.

Replies

• Roberta__F
    Options
    I use StepMania, too! It's really good fun though I'm not very good at it yet. What do you log it as in MFP?
  • rapunzel1029
    rapunzel1029 Posts: 20 Member
    Options