outgrowing resistance bands?

Options
i hve some green golds gym ones. the length is right, but i'm just starting out and it doesnt feel very challenging. i do bicep curls and tricep rows, 12 x2 i would have thought that being i had just started out i would have had SOME muscle soreness, but nothing. so i'm thinking its not enough.

the only other thing i have is a 5 # hand weight.

what do i do? i have NO money. went over budget on food this week. increase reps until i can get something else? adjust the band (how?) lift my 28 pound toddler? (j/k.. kinda... he does like bicep curls)

Replies

• grimm1974
    grimm1974 Posts: 337 Member
    Options
    There are many places online where you can find exercises that utilize your own body weight. I have very little room in my home, so that is the route I tend to take.
  • Nana_Booboo
    Nana_Booboo Posts: 501 Member
    Options
    Absolutely. Do 15-20 reps and repeat 4-5 Times. You should have a weakness at the end if each set. Rest a minute and repeat.
  • lisainpotown
    lisainpotown Posts: 18 Member
    Options
    You can lessen the slack with some exercises. Resistance bands come in varying levels of elasticity. They may also stretch out as they get used, and the cheaper ones will break. Look for weights on Craig's list or ask around if anyone has some extra dumbbells lying around that they aren't using. I hate resistance bands most of the time, but there are a few exercises where I find them to be most effective.
  • lisainpotown
    lisainpotown Posts: 18 Member
    Options
    I think a gallon jug of water weighs 5 pounds or something like that...
  • impyimpyaj
    impyimpyaj Posts: 1,073 Member
    Options
    www.nerdfitness.com has a lot of bodyweight exercises, from beginner on up.
  • Amandawith3kids
    Amandawith3kids Posts: 367 Member
    Options