Taking a day off of working out?

Options
What does everyone think about taking a rest day after working out for 21 straight? Still going to eat right but just rest the body one day. Can it help if your weight loss might have stalled? I had been losing 2+ pounds per week for the first 2 months of the year and nothing in the past 8 days. My weight is fluctuating by a pound or two, but seems to be stuck. Need help to break what looks like it could be a plateau!

Replies

• Will_Thrust_For_Candy
    Will_Thrust_For_Candy Posts: 6,109 Member
    Options
    Well YES, you should most definitely take a rest day. But more importantly, why are you working out for so many days straight? What sort of activities are you doing? Your body needs time to rest and recover. You might want to consider taking one day off per week, at the very least.
  • gypsy_spirit
    gypsy_spirit Posts: 2,107 Member
    Options
    2 pounds a week with only 30 pounds left to lose may be a little aggressive. Maybe drop your goal loss per week back to 1 or 1.5 pounds.

As far as a rest day? It would depend on what you do working out. I lift weights and run and I take one complete rest day per week. Think about this. Eating at a deficit is a stress on the body. Exercise is a stress on the body. Stress can hamper weight loss.

ETA: 8 days is NOT a plateau.
  • fjcone
    fjcone Posts: 19
    Options
    Yesterday was my first day off in a month. I felt so great this morning I think I may take a day every week.
  • TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    depending on what sort of exercise you do, you should be having a rest day once a week!
  • eldamiano
    eldamiano Posts: 2,667 Member
    Options
    How dare you....
  • randomtai
    randomtai Posts: 9,003 Member
    Options
    I rest more days than I work out. I am happy with my results. I tend to work smarter and not harder.
  • Helloitsdan
    Helloitsdan Posts: 5,565 Member
    Options