Do you even lift? Yes, I do (bikini pic)

Options
Ok, so this isn’t a success story of a huge profound weight loss. I’ve never been obese or even extremely overweight. It is, however, the story of losing a person I wasn’t so fond of and finding one that I can truly love and appreciate.

Pics first for the tl:dr crowd:

preggo_zps50ede18d.jpg

Very pregnant about 2 weeks before I had my daughter. Weighed about 185

DSC02320_zpsbd1c4140.jpg

Before I started lifting. About 145

birthday009_zps3755e2f6.jpg

Today (yeah, I said I would post it on my birthday but I was too busy eating yesterday) About 140

496fac97-9bfa-4d0f-ad97-dc7417fc02be_zpsf6c66241.jpg

For the OMG BULKY crowd

So here goes. I’m not going to bore you with my lifelong struggle with body image. We all know what that feels like, so fast forward to 2010. I was about to finalize my second divorce and was full of emotional crap and self loathing, so I self-medicated with drugs, namely prescription pills and marijuana. I was still in a very dangerous spiral. But I was skinny! Very skinny at 128 pounds on a 5’8” woman and remarkably unhealthy. I won’t go into the details of my rock bottom, but it came, and somehow, with a lot of help and love from my guy, I managed to survive it.
I started eating healthy food, fresh fruits and vegetables, and other stuff. In obscene quantities. I’m talking a whole cantaloupe or pineapple in a day, along with lunch and dinner and all the regular meals. But it’s healthy food, right? Not so much. I was still self medicating, but in a slightly less destructive way, but all in all, I gained right at 30 pounds. I know, still in healthy bmi for my height but not healthy for my small frame. Anyway, I started paying a little more attention to how much I was moving and reducing the sheer volume of food I was hoovering down.
Abridged version of the next year: gall bladder removed, appendix removed, getting my head right and getting pregnant.