Best shoes for running?

Options
Hi All, I am a beginner runner, not so a runner yet, but more of a walk-jog-walk-run runner... I wear standard suede pumas for running, but I don't think they are safe for running and I want to avoid any injuries. Can any of you suggest comfy running shoes (any brand) considering I am a new runner and I am a bit overweight. I want shoes that will allow for less impact on my joints if that makes any sense ahaha... I don't really know the terminology.

Any help and/or suggestions welcome!

Thanks in Adv! :x

Replies

• ka97
    ka97 Posts: 1,984 Member
    Options
    You need to find the right shoes for YOU. Do a google search for running store in your area(not a big box sporting goods store,) and get fitted.
  • diana5066
    diana5066 Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    I agree.... you need to go to a running store and have them fit you for a pair. I tried getting them on my own at 1st and went through 2 pairs but although they were great shoes.. they were not right for me. I took them into the Running Room and they fit me properly for a pair. Honestly I never would have bought this pair on my own but they are awesome for me. Have progressed from run/walk.. where run was maybe 60 seconds to 30 min of running
  • rejectuf
    rejectuf Posts: 487 Member
    Options
    I really like new balance minimus for running. Sturdy, lightweight, and encourages good form.
  • MeanderingMammal
    MeanderingMammal Posts: 7,866 Member
    Options
    I really like new balance minimus for running. Sturdy, lightweight, and encourages good form.

You may like them, they may not be right for the originator.

As above, I'd recommend going to a proper running store and getting their advice. Take your existing shoes with you as the wear pattern will give some indication of your form.

Personally I benefit from shoes with more control, to avoid exacerbating a longstanding issue. Some shoes are designed for heavier runners, but seek advice.
  • rejectuf