Shin splints :<

Options
2»

Replies

• scuba8781
    scuba8781 Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    I have to agree with the comments about proper form. When you strike heel-toe, that impact goes through your entire leg. When you run, try to strike fore-foot or mid-foot. This will allow the soft pads of your feet to absorb that shock instead of the rest of your leg.

You should be able to do this in your regular shoes, but if not, I highly recommend minimalist shoes like the Vibram Five-Fingers. They force you to use proper form. One note though, allow plenty of time for your calves to adapt to the new motion or you may trade shin splints for Achilles problems.

I've been using Vibrams for about 3 years off and on. As a (soon to not be) fat guy, I have no more knee pain, hip pain and shin splints when I run (and no Achilles problems because after learning my lesson, I took it slow at first). My focus has since changed to mainly bodyweight strength training instead of mainly cardio, but my recommendation still stands.

Cheers and good luck.
  • kaylamcdougall12
    Options
    Anyone ever had this and if so how did you deal with it?

Shin splints is a much misused term used by people to describe a range of different symptoms pointing to one of several different underlying causes, one of which may be shin splnts. Strictly the condition refers to microfractures in the shin bone with tearing of the muscle away from the bone. It was described by someone else recently on here as like having a knife driven into your shin and then wiggled around, and from experience that's a fair description.

If that is your problem then you need to rest it until it's repaired, possibly a couple of weeks, and then deal with whatever is causing it.

Frequently that cause is overuse, or inappropriate form in your training. You don't say what you're training is, but as it's a common running injury I'd assume that's what you mean.

In that case the potential causes could be: