Active Duty - Reserves - Retired - Vets!

Options

Replies

• 1HappyTurtleRunner
    1HappyTurtleRunner Posts: 125 Member
    Options
    National Guard (2000-present) previous Blackhawk mech when I was an NCO, now I am a NBC officer.

Three deployments, many state active duty missions
  • ElectricDame
    Options
    Active Duty Marine Corps Artillery 2002-2006. Stationed out in Kaneohe Bay HI. I miss it everyday that I am alive....

Arty! Hawaii.. Not a bad place to be either.
  • ironrat79
    ironrat79 Posts: 273 Member
    Options
    Navy- 2 med's on the USS Wasp in close to 4 years sea service and a shore tour NS Everett, WA. Last deployment was OEF floating the Gulf of Aden.
  • stellcorb
    stellcorb Posts: 294 Member
    Options
    I was an Army Medic from 91-97. My career was not nearly as exciting as yours. I spent most of my time at Fort Drum, NY. Anybody who knows where that is knows that I don't miss it.

I work for the Army now as a Military Analyst, have been for 4 years.

Ha ha on the Ft Drum comment!!! I was in the Ohio Army National Gaurd from 97-2006 with one deployment to Iraq (Camp Victory South Bahgdad) in 2005. We mobilized through Ft. Drum in December through Feb... It was terrible! The barracks were crap and it was usually below 0... Hello Mickey Mouse boots!
    I was a medic (99 Bravo) and am glad I did my time... not sure if I would encourage my daughter to do it though (I learned some things the hard way during my time)... My closest group of friends were people I deployed with and that's where I started dating my (now) husband (Veteran's Day is our Valentine's Day!)
    Can't say I miss it though... and can't say I would've been cut out for full time active duty... 15 months was enough of that crap!
    Oh... and I now have an office job in finance... no connection to my English major or my MOS!
  • DWBalboa
    DWBalboa Posts: 37,256 Member
    Options