Calories = Money?

Options
lorigem
lorigem Posts: 446 Member
Does anyone ever think of calories as money? I guess because I work at a financial institution, I associate my calorie count for the day as an out-of-pocket expense. I choose wisely so I "spend" the calories on good by yummy food. And when I'm down to my last calories of the day, and if I want something that would put me over, I think, "well I can either go negative (bad), wait 'til I get paid again tomorrow, or take a loan from my weekly total).

Lol - it's maddening. :noway:

Replies

• Swiftdogs
    Swiftdogs Posts: 328 Member
    Options
    Yep, but I'm a financial analyst. I also look at macros as a balance sheet :glasses:
  • SugaryLynx
    SugaryLynx Posts: 2,640 Member
    Options
    Haha, that's how I've been explaining why I count calories. Well, I balance my checkbook, don't I?!
  • SezxyStef
    SezxyStef Posts: 15,268 Member
    Options
    yes this analogy is often used...
  • qtgonewild
    qtgonewild Posts: 1,930 Member
    Options
    i do. and i look at food as numbers now, thanks MFP.
  • neandermagnon
    neandermagnon Posts: 7,436 Member
    Options
    i don't, but it seems like a perfectly good analogy for it.... if it's working for you then :drinker:
  • Eric_DeCastro
    Eric_DeCastro Posts: 767 Member
    Options
    I do kinda. I'm budgeted 1260 calories everyday, the more I exercise the higher the budget gets. the goal is to have as much money left over by the end of the day. too bad it doesn't roll over the calories I save til the next day. =(
  • AmberCrudup
    AmberCrudup Posts: 8 Member
    Options
    Haha, I said that last night…."how should I spend my calories for dinner?"
  • FoxyLifter
    FoxyLifter Posts: 965 Member
    Options
    I'm also a big fan of this analogy. :bigsmile:
  • Lisapayne76
    Lisapayne76 Posts: 157 Member
    Options
    I do but I am an accountant. I look at most everything in terms of numbers and money
  • jackielou867