Struggling to find right balance

Options
Firstly let me say a bit about myself so you get the picture; I'm a 197lb 42 year old working wife & mother.

I started training for a 5K two months ago. Hubby and I run three-four times a week, currently at the level of between 1.5-3 miles and not particularly fast! We also do a little bit of resistance training on some rest days (a slow paced 15-30 mins on high resistance on the cross trainer).

First month I didn't change my eating habits and actually put on 4lbs. So got my head in gear and started using this site. Wokred out my base calorie rate, 1500. So set my intake at 1200-1300 cals a day, exc workout calories. I struggle to eat any more, esp the workout calories. I'm eating lean meat, fish, cutting carbs where I can, no alcohol, but do have the odd treat. But I've only lost 3 ounces this week!

I know people might tell me I'm not eating enough or I'm in starvation mode, but on the odd day off and I've eaten over 1500 calories, my weight jumps up a pound or two - and stays there and I have to go back to my plan and work it off slowly again.

It's really disheartening because it means I can't have the odd meal out with the family or the occasional treat because the weight jumps back on with force!

What am I doing wrong and what can I do in order to live a normal life and get to a healthy weight !

Replies

• Hondo_Man
    Hondo_Man Posts: 114 Member
    Options
    Then I would think you are eating in a caloric surplus. Do you know your BMR and TDEE? Once you determine those, you will be better able to control the amount of calories you take in in order to lose weight and have a caloric deficit.

If you are running 3-4 days per week and weight training also - on your rest days, then when do you have an actual rest day or days? Muscles need rest in order to repair, grow and help you increase endurance and strength.
  • Thomaskerrya
    Thomaskerrya Posts: 34 Member
    Options