Food Weighing Basics?

Options
I plan on FINALLY buying a food scale this weekend while I'm out grocery shopping and I will begin using it next week. Up until now, I have been measuring liquids and solids in measuring cups and sometimes I just guess using little tricks like "4 oz=palm of the hand" for meat. I'm excited to start weighing my food, and hopefully I don't find out I'm eating way more than I thought, because I just now got to the point where I don't get hungry at inconvenient times.

Since I'm a newbie, bear with me and my stupid questions.

1.) Do I still measure liquids in measuring cups or should I use the scale for those as well?
2.) Do I have to measure individually packaged foods? For example, a light string cheese is listed as being 50 calories on the package. Do I need to recalculate that based on what the cheese actually weighs or is it okay to use the listed calories?
3.) How about things like crackers? Should I weigh those or use the package for calorie counts?
4.) Should I measure the empty cup/container first, then put the food in, and calculate the difference? Or do most food scales have the option to "zero out" once the container is on the scale?
5.) Should I trust my protein shake scoop or should I weigh that too?
6.) Should I weigh food raw or cooked? Does it depend on the food? Vegetables, meat, etc?

Any tips and tricks about food weighing would be really awesome. Any common mistakes people make when they weigh foods?

Next Purchase: A heart rate monitor. But until then...

Replies

• erindellamore
    erindellamore Posts: 46 Member
    Options
    Hopefully I can answer your questions! Have fun with your food scale, mine is my best friend in the kitchen. It'll just become second nature to you soon.

1. Most liquids nutritional data is listed by volume and not weight, it is safe to continue to use measuring cups and spoons. When nutritional data measures by weight (gram or oz) that's when I pull out the scale.