1,200 Calories Per Day?

Hello-

I am new to MFP and will begin to start logging my foods tomorrow. My current weigh is 147 and my goal weigh is 130 by May 31. I am 5'5. MFP says to eat 1,200 calories per day. Has anyone had any success with this? Would you recommend eating more than 1,200 per day?

Replies

• suziecue66
    suziecue66 Posts: 1,312 Member
    I would start higher calories to see how you go. Why start off very low when you may lose fine with more calories. If things plateau down the track you have room to go lower in calories or increase intensity of exercise. Also perhaps don't follow the MFP suggested macros - too low in protein.
  • Great- how can I find my Macros?
  • mariluny
    mariluny Posts: 428 Member
    i'd say you should track how many calories you eat currently for 2 or 3 days first of all. if you currently eat 1800 calorie in a regular day you will struggle a lot to go down at 1200. You should make the transition and shave off a few calorie every days. You'll be starving all day long because it does take a few weeks before you stop feeling hungry every few hours.

1200 is feasible but it is hard to get into, you just need to learn to make smart choices. Don't cut down all fat because it's still good for you. Just use the good one like olive oil and and nuts. Make sure to eat good carbs, oatmeal for exemple is great, whole grain in general. Be careful with the snacking, fresh fruits and veggies are always great. I'm usually hungry after eating just an apple or celery for example, so I dip it in peanut butter or eat an few almonds with it..

Side salads with meals are great because your plate look more full, it makes you chew a lot and fills your stomach quickly, it's a mind trick for your brain. I got used to no vinaigrette in salad (use lemon and/or spices instead), or half-fat ceasar salad dressing (a family favorite), it's a well invest 50 to 75 calories in my book.

Good luck :)
  • pocho269
    pocho269 Posts: 7 Member