Eating back exercise calories?

Options
Hello, I'm pretty new to MFP. I've been counting calories (manually, pen and paper) and weightlifting three times a week, an hour per session, very consistently, since October.

Now, I've lost about 11 kg doing that and the thing is, I either eat about the same or a hundred kcal more on lifting days, but I never bothered eating back the calories that I burned during either lifting or cardio/bodyweight sessions because I have absolutely no idea how much I actually burn doing those.

I've been kind of stalling on weightloss, even gaining weight after visiting my parents on weekends (where I have no way of tracking my calories but try to keep portions small) and I honestly don't know how to deal with this new information. How do I figure out how much I burn doing exercises without completely overestimating calories? If eating back calories is vital, what macros should I focus on?

For reference, I try to eat around 1250 on rest days and about 1400 on lifting days. Sometimes it doesn't quite work out, but I'm probably only above 1500 when I'm at my parents'. According to MFP, my BMR is around 1460. I follow the Stronglifts routine and do bodyweight exercises at home which add up to about 30 minutes. Seeing as how consistently gradual my weightloss has been, I don't think I need to eat any calories back.

Any thoughts?

Replies

• SezxyStef
    SezxyStef Posts: 15,268 Member
    Options
    For non lifting exercises you can log it in the exercise portion MFP and MFP will give you an estimate of calories burned. This is over estimated so it is suggested you eat back 50-75% of them.

Weight lifting is another story...I have read that it is underestimated here on MFP...

As for the weight loss...if it's only been a week it's not a stall..but your diary isn't open so quesitons will be asked...

do you weigh your food? log everything you can...accurately?

As for Macros is you are lifting concentrate on Protien first, fats then carbs.