Ethnic Food is Killing Me.

Options
To start off, I'm 19 years old and currently 240 lbs with a height of 5'9 and wearing pants that are at least 40 inches around the waist. I am also Bangladeshi, and to save us all some time, let's just say that I'm Indian, LOL.

I'm studying dietetics and nursing but it'll be an ultimate contradiction as I must become healthy first and then worry about helping others. Because honestly, no one wants nutrition advice from a fat guy, haha.

So I've been using MFP on and off since my senior year of high school and now I'm about start my junior year of college this fall and yet made no progress because I cant keep to my diet. Why? Because I get lazy after a while.

Like I said, I'm Bengali. With that being said, the main thing on our tables is ALWAYS rice. Parboiled, Long Grain, Basmati, Short Grain, Sweet, Brown, whatever. Rice. Rice. Rice. And with the rice, different curries of lamb, goat, chicken, beef, fish, shrimp, quail, veggies and all kinds of curries are served along side. But these curries have so much oil and spices to them that you'd be having pre-ulcer symptoms if you didnt stop eating it for a while.

It's the rice that kills me. I do have wheat Pita (equivalent to the indian Roti) sometimes with my curry, but it's still a carb. Anyone who is Indian, Bangladeshi, Pakistani, Nepali, Burmese and so on, and anyone who has had Indian food in general will tell you how addicting things can get. With that being said, I'm thinking about starting my old diet of minimal carbs again but making a few new changes as I have taken a few nutrition classes for my degree. And no, I will not let go of my curries. However, I will make some changes to them. Dramatic ones. My mother may slap me, but it's for the best. As for samosas and other fried delights, baking them is not an option and I will not bring shame to my desi household, so I am letting go of fried foods completely. Not even gonna try baking. :laugh: