Grocery Shopping?

Options
I'm on a 1,520 calorie daily limit & within the next week I plan to do grocery shopping for the month. I've never truly dieted before now and I'm wondering:

1) What are some good low to no calorie drinks that I can get. I love water but sometimes I just need a tasty drink too.

2) Almond milk, skim milk, or soy milk? Which is better for someone who LOVES milk & Which brands of them taste the best?

3) What is the best butter alternative for cooking and taste?

And finally,

4) What are some yummy low calorie sweet or salty snack alternatives (either store bought or recipes)?

I'm a newbie at all of this so any additional tips or recommendations will be greatly appreciated!

Replies

• missiontofitness
    missiontofitness Posts: 4,074 Member
    Options
    1. Add sliced fruit or cucumber to your water! Makes it more exciting, especially if you have leftover produce. I'm also a fan of Trop 50 juice, and Naked juice as well for a quick juice option with breakfast.

2. I personally go with skim. I dated someone with a lactose intolerance...while I extreme couponed rice milk for them like it was my job, I could never bring myself to like it. Personal taste, though! Try buying the tiny boxes of a few different brands, and try them out. If you don't like it, stick with what you like. Skim is awesome for cooking.

3. I use olive oil, just a lot less than usual. In regards to butter, don't be scared of it! You can incorporate it into your macros.