Binging at night

Options
I know its a self control thing & I need to learn to just say no as late night snacks which turn into binges can completely destroy all my good eating throughout the day but I find it so difficult & was wondering if anyone had any tips on how they stopped this kind of thing?
Im a university student and it always seems to happen once i come home for the holidays, sure its probably because all of a sudden I'm going from an empty fridge in halls to a fridge at home packed with chocolate and good food but I need to stop getting into this routine and ASAP as I'm piling on the pounds!

Replies

• KariOrtiz2014
    KariOrtiz2014 Posts: 343 Member
    Options
    I've had this same issue multiple times. Just say no!
  • Branstin
    Branstin Posts: 2,320 Member
    Options
    Drink water before each meal and throughout the day. You may need to eat more of your calories during the day as well.
  • diannethegeek
    diannethegeek Posts: 14,776 Member
    Options
    First thing I always think is to find out why you're binging. Some people snack at night because they've set their calorie goals too low and their bodies are trying to get the fuel they need. Others snack out of habit and boredom. And still more are emotional eaters, eating to suppress or enhance a feeling.

If you're a boredom eater then stop letting yourself be bored. Take up a hobby (preferably something that keeps your hands busy) or get out of the house.

If you're not eating enough through the day or missing nutrients or food groups then change your diet through the day and you may be less likely to snack at night.

If you're an emotional eater then you may have to find ways to work through the emotions other than eating. Journaling, yoga, meditation, kickboxing, whatever it is that works for you.

Willpower is a good thing to learn, but sometimes it needs a little help.
  • tech_kitten
    tech_kitten Posts: 221 Member
    Options