Running your first Mud Run this year?

Options
I'm curious how everyone here is training/preparing for these. As a trainer, I've ran a couple so if you're lost maybe I can help.

So...

- What race(s) are you running?
- What are your concerns?
- And what are you doing for training?

:)

Replies

• RunningForeverMama
    RunningForeverMama Posts: 261 Member
    Options
    I'm running the Dirty Dash this summer. I don't have any concerns because is looks more fun than tough. I'm just continuing with my regular running and body-weight exercises. Am I correct that for a race like this that will be sufficient?
  • chriscolh
    chriscolh Posts: 127 Member
    Options
    Yes, I am! So excited! I am doing the dirty dash in June with my husband, son, and a few neighborhood friends. I am hoping to be down at least 10 more lbs by then. This is what I'm doing to get stronger: Monday is my crossfit-style workout (15 min warm up, then a skill centered "prework" for 10 min, 15-20 min WOD, then cool down and stretch), Tuesday is weight lifting, Wedesday I run (working on getting all the way thru my 3.5 mile route - I can make it almost half way so far), Thursday I do a spinning class (which I love because I can walk out looking like I've just gone through a rainstorm), Friday is another weight training day focusing on legs, and Saturday I either swim or run. Sundays I sleep in :-). I really like the variation, and I never do the exact same workouts on M, T, and Fri. I've gotten a lot stronger since I started and I'm looking forward to getting dirty in June!
  • leviclampitt
    Options
    I'm running the Dirty Dash this summer. I don't have any concerns because is looks more fun than tough. I'm just continuing with my regular running and body-weight exercises. Am I correct that for a race like this that will be sufficient?