Bicep Tendonitis and Weight Lifting - Stronglifrts 5x5

Options
At this time this is self diagnosed and I know I need to see a doctor but by the time I get an appointment with my PCP a referral to an Ortho, a prescription for an MRI and then a follow up appointment for the results it'll be a few weeks at least ...

In the meantime I thought I would ask who here has had this and what have you done regarding weight lifting. I've been lifting on and off for a few years and recently a little over 2 months doing Stronglifts 5x5 - I began noticing some pain in the front of my shoulder and some loss of range of motion. This primarily occurs when I'm bench pressing. I also do some isolation arm excercises about 1x a week and I havne't had any discomfort with most bicep and tricep work. From my research it seems to be inflamation or a strain of the short head bicep tendon going into the shoulder.

Has anyone dealt with this? What have you done (besides rest, ice and ibuprofin) to ease the pain and hasten recovery? How long did it take to recover?

What have you done regarding weight lifting?

Regarding this program, obviously I can still do the squats, deadlifts and rows .. I'll lay off the bench press and I'll see if/how the OHP bothers me on Thursday or Friday (I'm taking a few days rest completely for now)?

Any help/info is greatly appreciated. TIA

Replies

• michaelmadonna
    michaelmadonna Posts: 105 Member
    Options
    BUMP
  • michaelmadonna
    Options
    BUMP - Anyone?
  • ncahill77
    ncahill77 Posts: 501 Member
    Options
    I haven't had that particular issue but I have tendonitis in my forearm elbow area. I took a full week off of any lifting then went back while avoiding lifts that directly aggravated the area (basically curls, shrugs and farmer walks) for a couple of months. The issue basically resolved itself.
  • JNick77
    JNick77 Posts: 3,783 Member
    Options